Food Films I Want To See

Standard

As I continue to educate myself about healthy eating, I’ve come across films (mostly documentaries) created by people so passionate about what they believe or so determined to discover the truth, that I want to see what they see through their cameras. There are also films about people who have made or are trying to make a difference for themselves, our country and the world, that I want to know more about.

Here I’ll keep a list of these films I want to see (in alpha order) and update when I’ve seen them. Perhaps I’ll share my reviews, but as that’s not a forté of mine, don’t expect too much insight or critical thinking. But who knows, I might surprise myself.

Food, Inc. (2008)
In Food, Inc., filmmaker Robert Kenner lifts the veil on our nation’s food industry, exposing the highly mechanized underbelly that has been hidden from the American consumer with the consent of our government’s regulatory agencies, USDA and FDA. (description from Food, Inc. site)

The Hunger Games (2012)
I know, I know, not a food film! But a few of us in our household are anxiously awaiting this movie’s premiere. And just for the record, we read it before we even knew it was going to be a movie. God bless youth librarians!

Our Daily Bread (2005)
I think…although I don’t know if I can handle it. I watched the trailer and had to cover half the screen for most of it, I was so grossed out. If I read the reviews correctly, there is no narration, just images. The film’s website describes it as a wide-screen tableau of a feast which isn’t always easy to digest – and in which we all take part. A pure, meticulous and high-end film experience that enables the audience to form their own ideas.

The Real Dirt on Farmer John (2007)
I’m a fan of Independent Lens because I almost always happen on these films by accident, find them absolutely fascinating and end up learning about a subject I never cared about or knew about. This one I’m curious about because Farmer John seems to be quite a character, nothing like the Amish farmers I sometimes see hard at work with their horse-drawn plows, and yet is just as dedicated to his farming life.

Supersize Me (2003)
I realize this is an old one that’s very well-known and probably over-exposed, but I’ve never seen it.

Please Leave a Reply

