Another Kale Chips Recipe (from IIN)

Standard

After I published my last post, I actually clicked on the recipe link in the email from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition and laughed to discover it was a recipe for kale chips! The recipe title is Crispy “Cheesy” Kale Chips and you can find it here.

I was wondering how this could be “cheesy” since you’ll see the ingredients do not include cheese. But then I googled “nutritional yeast” since I know nothing about it and About.com (get it, get it? It was actually the second result – I rarely use wikipedia) tells me:

Yellow in color and with a nutty cheesy flavor, nutritional yeast is an inactive yeast that is a favorite amongst many vegans because of its unique flavor and similarity to cheese when added to foods.

Hmmm…I’ll have to investigate where I can get some nutritional yeast and how it tastes. I’ll update here if I try this recipe. Anyone wanna take bets on whether the kids will love it or hate it? Oooh! Maybe I’ll make a love it vs. hate it scoreboard!

Please Leave a Reply

